Destination: Detroit (Pre Trip)

Posted: May 2, 2013 in Work Trips

This is the beginning of what is to be my great experience as a videographer. But let me explain what ‘this’ is first: recently I got a job for a college recruitment company. Meaning that I get to combine the three things I love – film, sports and travel. I will be working along side a college recruiter, accompanying his word with picture, something that both college, and student-athlete generally have not scene before.

 Tomorrow is my first trip. Destination: Detroit.

This is my first time in Detroit weirdly enough because I have traveled a majority of the United States. My parents are teachers, meaning that they got summers off along with us. With gas being under $2, our suburban was the prefered method. We’ve been camping in Yosemite, hiking in Denver, rafting the Mckenzie River in Oregon, gazing upon Death Valley and surviving the scorching heat in the Arizona desert. Boarding a plane was used when journeying over 3,000 miles to the East Coast. This was where we saw family, and the White House, the Nigara Falls, Cape Cod and Boston Thunderstorms. With this method however, we skipped over what was in between the coasts, what Jason Aldean calls effectively the “fly over states”. So this will be a first, not only not being with family for these vacations, but not being near a vast body of water during it. I suppose we will see if the Great Lakes uphold to the great oceans.

As I sit here writing though, I realize that I should probably pack…

Leave a comment